Hello Everybody

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 15 replies
  • 43 subscribers

Hello everybody, this is my first time posting, it feels like a milestone I didn’t want to arrive at.

i got told 4 weeks ago my ovarian cancer has returned less than a year after my first treatment had finished.  I have quite a rare aggressive sort of OC so there are not a lot of treatment options available for me.  I am currently having tests to see if I am eligible for a clinical trial.  When I saw my consultant last she said my prognosis is terminal with a timescale of a few months to 18 months (I asked).  So here I am.....

i seem to be carrying on as normal, is that normal? I’ve stopped work and I feel like I’m on holiday.  Every so often I have a good cry but some times I am pottering around quite happily.  I’m 48 so had hoped I’d be around a bit longer - but then I remember I’ve had a lucky life, and some people don’t get that.

anyway I’m waffling, so i’ll Go.  Any advice for how to live while dying (can I say that here, apologies if I upset anyone), would be much appreciated.  And I hope you are all having a lovely Sunday morning

heather x

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Dear Roobarb

I am sorry to read this, I had been thinking of you lately and wondered how you were getting along. Seems we are both now eligible for this group. My mets were found in April. I haven't asked for a time scale. I am not that brave. But I do know it is very aggressive.

Like you I have lost and down moments. Often I find myself blocking it out and thinking it's not real. Good to hear that you are happy, that is what it's all about.

I hope you qualify for a trial and it helps to keep you going for a long time.

I have accessed counselling which does seem to help me when I feel a bit overwhelmed by it all. Maybe something you could try too?

Nice to hear from you. I read here but  don't often post much on this part of the site.

• Hey there Heather,