Career worries

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 2 replies
  • 4 subscribers

Hi all,

I am glad to have found this group.

I have been diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma at 23 and 2 years later, I am going through an even longer process with a relapse. I am now 25, 26 this year and was wondering if anyone else in their 20s or early 30s worries about the impact on cancer on their career. 20s should be spent working on flourishing on your career, or atleast I expect it to.

I have had a very tough time dealing with the reality and my career being put on hold.

Sending love and light to you all.

• Hi Raveen,

I saw your post had not had a response and so I wanted to offer a small reply. I was 36 on diagnosis so quite a bit older than you but I was partway through a promotion process I had been working on for several years when I was diagnosed, so I understand a little about the impact of cancer on careers.

I think the best advice I can give you is to try to park those worries about your career for the time being. You have a more immediate focus in the short term and that is getting your health back to where you would like it to be. In terms of a career, I always thought that there was a correct path that I should follow, that life would turn out a certain way, but truth be told, none of that is really in our control. Each individual is on their own unique path and our job is just to try to find the happiness on that path.