How do you keep people up to date?

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 6 replies
  • 4 subscribers

Hi All

I thought I would start a conversation here as I keep seeing people joining but everybody is very quiet.

So I wondered how do you keep people up to date on you? Did you tell anybody? Do you have WhatsApp groups to keep friends/family informed? Do you do announcements on social media? Do you wait for that dreaded questions with the emphasise on 'how are you'?

Do you find you get support from friends? Or have they dropped to clanger comments along the way? Do you go to support groups.

I spoke to one of my team last week and he said he got the feeling that I was quite isolated and he was very right. So I wondered what you all do.

Chocolate biscuit to the first replier Slight smile

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi there! 

I am quite new to all this...  3 weeks in and a struggle for diagnosis but fear of CUP (Cancer of unknown primary) 

I started with 'family threads' to keep people updated but that went tits up because I kept getting angry at how some (most ) people responded.  I then copied letters and sent them around but that also went tits up as everyone started second guessing and diagnosing me which again made me frustrated and angry.  From there I tell the odd person and copy and paste to them (in the correct order of importance because they get arsey if I tell someone I shouldn't first) 

Personally now.... I find isolation is probably easier in a way.  I am now going to take a route of avoiding people that say stupid things and look for support in people that know what it is like.