My Wife has been diagnosed with Kidney cancer

• 2 replies
  • 44 subscribers

I now live in Turkey and my wife is Turkish, unfortunately, I don't speak much Turkish, for the past two years my wife has had several treatments for cancer, on the brain and in the chest, she also suffered a brain swelling and can not walk great distances and she is cognitively impaired and her balance is very poor. She received Radiation therapy for the brain and chemotherapy for chest cancer. She has been visiting the hospital every 3 months for check-ups, last checkup they found a 12 mm lesion on her kidney so they wanted to do a scan, the result is she has cancer in her kidney and will undergo more radiation therapy. She is one brave lady it's me who is the angry one, I am fuming, after all, she has been through and now this. I am at a loss it's so frustrating because I can't get the information I need, the system over here is so different. I worked as a social worker so I am aware of the need for information given to the family but it's different over here, for me, it's too relaxed, my daughters are Turkish and they are trying their best but they take what is said as law me I want to know the whys and wherefores. Doctors are not Gods and you can ask questions but when I start asking questions it is frowned upon so to speak. Its not them it's me feeling helpless and afried and totally useless. I wish I could do more but I can't and that's what's killing me. It's the uncertainty of the now events will the treatment work or will it not? Sorry about the rant but it's dragging me down so I needed to vent.

• Hi Zap 

my heart goes out to you all being diagnosed is a bolt out of the blue …… even when living in the UK any diagnosis is traumatic…… my husband was diagnosed with lung cancer 2 days before Christmas 21 and has just had his second immunotherapy treatment 

my husband ‘seems’ to be handling it me…… I’m in pieces