Double Dilemma

• 5 replies
  • 18 subscribers

Hello, This is my first post here and I am a complete newbie to this forum. I was diagnosed with breast cancer last Tuesday and my husband was diagnosed with prostate cancer on the Friday. Not the best week of the year. We are still both having checks, tests and chats to choose out best options. My husband has a lot of other illnesses which could limit his choices and I feel like I have to just get on with it. Have my surgery and get back to being a mummy and carer. I'm hoping that my positive attitude will help me through but if anyone has any advice for a rapid recovery from either a lumpectomy or a mastectomy then I would appreciate any help. xxx

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the Community but sorry to hear about your and your husbands diagnoses.

Navigating the cancer journey can be such a stressful and challenging time but getting support from people who have walked the ‘exact same' cancer journey can help a lot. (I have a completely different cancer).

The Community is actually divided into dedicated Cancer Support Groups (Discussion Rooms) so can I recommend you join and post in our dedicated Breast Cancer support group fir yourself and our Prostrate Cancer support group fir yor husband.

These groups are safe places to talk to others with a similar diagnosis, treatment experience, to ask questions and get support……. and talk with others support family.

To connect in with the group please click on the links belowPoint down

Breast cancer

Prostate cancer

…… then once the group page opens click in the [Black - Click to Join - Banner] that appears at the bottom of the page and this will then confirm that you have joined the group.

When you are ready……. you can introduce yourself by putting up your very own post by clicking [+ Create new post] or [ + ] in the top right of the group page.