Care support - stress

• 3 replies
  • 16 subscribers

Hi I am new to the group.  I have been caring for my husband now for three years with throat cancer and melonoma on the ear and a ganglion on the kidney before that.  We are both retired but I was working and I had to give up working to look after him.  It just was not an option.  I miss it but don't think I could go back now.

Three years ago, my husband was diagnosed with throat cancer and had a very large tumour in his throat.  He has been through 33 days of consecutive chemo and radio therapy - most days both together but had the weekends off.  By the end he was being dragged into the ambulance and came back with a catheter and codeine for the pain - which then bound him up.  We sorted it.  But it was not enough.  We went to the consultation thinking we were being told he was cancer free when they said there was still a bit left which was lodged in the roots of his tongue.  After a 12 hour op, they had taken all of his tongue and its roots and the pharynx so he was not able to talk.  He was not able to hear either as he had lost 70% of his hearing in both ears.  I managed to get him some hearing aids and he is now doing well with them but it took a long time.  Never sure what he is thinking as he is up most of the night doing things and I am up all night worrying what he is doing.  he needs about 5 hours sleep whereas I seem to need more.