Contract termination advice

• 1 reply
  • 4 subscribers

Hi,

I have recently had my contract at work terminated after 6 years. I am a surveyor/GIS consultant working for a utility company in NI.

I was diagnosed with High grade Diffuse Large B-Cell NHL in July 2022. I completed 6 rounds of R-EPOCH chemotherapy in Nov 2022 but since then have been dealing with long term/permanent side effects making me unable to return to work as quickly as I would have like. The side effects are reduced immunity and peripheral neuropathy (in both hands and feet which I have been told is permanent). Along with severe anxiety and depression.

My employer has been good with me and my time off generally. Although there was very little contact made with me during my time off. As I can't drive anymore I will be unable to fulfil my role as a surveyor, although since Nov 2019 I have been acting Network Coordinator which does not involve site visits, and from March 2020, I have been working from home.

Occupational Health assessments have advised a desk role, from home, which was initially put to me in Oct 2023 as how it would be when I returned. However in Jan 2024 I was notified that because "there was no date for my return to work" I would be being terminated. My question around this is that the occupational health report gives a timeline in which I could return to the altered role (which I believe is more than reasonably practical) and even sets out a staggered phased return but my employer seems to have disregarded this and not even tried to accommodate any changes.