It's not that drastic yet I know.

12 minute read time.

Ok, so it's T+6 days since I was told I had Oesophageal cancer and I'm already talking about heaven. I get it, it's not at the point yet but in reality, in order to deal with my situation I have had to accept my own mortality and the chance that I may be looking for a bowling green in the sky. Let me begin ... 

I'm 46, live with my loving wife Carol, married almost 20 years and we have no cats, kids or dogs through choice. Until now life has been an easy ride, honestly for me it's been like driving an automatic car for 46 years and it's only just now that I'm starting to realise it. I wouldn't say I'm well educated but I got a degree of some shape from Strathclyde Uni and immediately fell into the world of technology. When I was a kid I was interested in programming and the transition to software engineering seemed an easy one. I worked for IBM for a couple of years, then bounced into manufacturing and ERP systems, then into utilities with ScottishPower. I was luck enough to be involved in the first Internet wave and developed lots of funky online things that probably caused mayhem with people's lives (sorry). I bounced about a bit more in technology, working on ridiculously large and far fetched ideas eventually ending up in HSBC where I currently still provide architectural guidance. 

In my private life, I enjoy Lawn Bowling (hence the title) and am the residing secretary and president of a small club on the outskirts of Glasgow. I enjoy hill walking a bit of golf and love skiing.