Tired and fed up waiting

4 minute read time.

Hi this is my first time using a blog and I have no idea what I'm doing but I would like to share my story so far if that's ok . I am 59 and until recently worked as a TA in a local primary school previously I worked at a nursery for 16 years and in school 7 years and before that 14 years with a bank in the city I have been married 40 years and have 2 adult children . I took early retirement in August 2016 I felt increasingly tired all the time and found my working day exhausting I worked from 7.30am to 5pm ( not my contracted hours) and I loved my job and the children . Anyway on the morning of 7 Sept whilst in the shower I noticed quite a significant lump in my right breast close to the nipple my first thought was " I'm sure that wasn't there yesterday " and put it down to the fact that I had sanded and varnished 5 wooden doors the day before and being righted handed had probably "over did it " next morning I phoned the doctor no appointments for 4 days decided to ring early next morning for an emergency appt yes they would see me same morning explained to the doctor about the lump needs to be investigated she said gave me a letter and told nhs try to see you within 2 weeks I have private health insurance so opted to go down that route I didn't want to wait 2 weeks maybe more . Saw my consultant who examined my lump had biopsies mammograms "well the lump hasn't shown up on the mammogram said the consultant I let out a sigh of relief but I can feel the lump and so can you and I think that is supious wait and see what the biopsies come back with . My husband and l left feeling shell shocked I had no idea that a lump would not show on a mammogram we went back a week later it's cancer and is a 20mm approx I was scheduled for surgery on 28 Oct 2016 I had read everything I could find on breast cancer so felt prepared and positive surgery went well the lump was 22mm all margins were clear as were lymph nodes but there were s