I don't normally

3 minute read time.

I never thought I would write my own blog but today I feel the need too. 

I'm 31 and was diagnosed with breast cancer in June 2016.  I found a lump in April ( the 25th to be precise!) went to the doctors on the Monday and was referred to the breast clinic. Waited on an appointment arriving, which came for the 2nd of June. I arrived for my appointment and saw the registrar. He told me that he thought it was a fibromyalgia and that it was nothing to be concerned about. I was to go for an ultrasound and that was all I would need. So I went for the ultrasound and I got the dreaded " I need to get the senior radiologist" ding ding ding alarm bells start ringing in my head. 
Being a staff nurse I knew this was not going to be great news. She came in scanned me and I asked what she found.  She asked if I was booked in for a mammogram and I said no she said she thought I would need one as she had seen something that she wasn't happy with and wasn't prepared to send me home without it being checked out further.
Might have been a coincidence but as I walked out the room the lady that does the mammograms was there. So taken upstairs 6 done in total. Sat in the waiting room and saw the breast cancer nurse walk into the consultants room, so I knew it wasn't going to be good news.  
I went into the room and was told matter of fact that they were 95% sure that it was breast cancer and they needed to do a biopsy, that was done and the second set of waiting began. 
Went away for the weekend back to my hometown and went back to the clinic on the Tuesday the 14th June. Went with my mum and was told for definate that it was breast cancer. A grade 2 invasive ducal breast cancer around 22mm X 22mm X 21mm. And that my WLE and node removal would be the 22nd of June. Fine no problem.