My thyroid journey

Less than one minute read time.

Good morning I'm a newbie I have just joined today...I'm not sure where to begin but let's try 

I have hadan under active thyroid for a few years now,6 month ago I had a scan which showed a small nodule, so it was suggested I had a thyroid biopsy which I had in Dec 15 results thy3a saw my endo in March and she said something about calcium in nodule and would see me in July, I've since had a second biopsy April 22 and I have just received results this morning thy3f with hurthle cells and an appointment with a surgeon, letter states no cancer, can I do a watch and wait for 6 months or so or is there any other treatments I can request before going down the route of surgery,any advice would be much appreciated tia xx 

Anonymous
  • Hi Leah05

Thanks for coming to see us. If I understand correctly, you have a lump and you've had two fine needle aspiration biopsies which have not conclusively shown cancer.

However, you've got an appointment to see a surgeon - which does rather suggest that the doctors would like to look at getting rid of your lump. I think you are asking should you go to the surgeon's appointment or avoid that and do a 'wait and see'? Is that correct?

If the surgeon wants to see you then you should definitely go to that appointment. You can then discuss with him/her whether surgery is really necessary. The surgeon might want to get a CT or MRI scan done before surgery - to see if there are further clues to what's inside - and I would guess that if surgery takes place, it will be a hemithyroidectomy rather than a full removal. My sister is living a full life on half a thyroid so it's not the end of the world if you lose a bit and if you're already medicated for an underactive thyroid, it wouldn't be too life changing to get rid of a lump that might cause you problems later.