Getting up to date

4 minute read time.

Been thinking about doing this for a while now. I'm not someone who writes diaries and I've never done a blog before, but somehow it feels that the time is right, as things seem to be moving a little faster and I am finally coming to realise that we are very unlikely to walk away from this together. Perhaps up till now a little part of me has felt that writing things down would make them real?

A resume to start. My partner and I met 25 years ago and have been together for 22. We have had a wonderful, brilliant time together, we worked in the same office and have spent nearly all of our time together. The occasional cross word but never any serious arguments. 10 years ago we moved to rural mid-Wales and as a result have left most of our friends behind. Still in touch with some of them, but sporadically. We had each other and that honestly was enough.

The nightmare began just after Pete's 60th birthday in July 2014, when he noticed some blood coming out of his bottom while we were on holiday in France. Luckily the bowel cancer screening test kit dropped through our letterbox at home some weeks later. Within weeks we had the dreaded diagnosis, cancer in the sigmoid colon. An operation to remove it followed swiftly, he was extremely lucky and had a good surgeon and didn't need a colostomy. It was classed as a Duke's C/D tumour, because there were a couple of suspicious spots detected in his lungs. He had 4 cycles of oxaliplatin/Capecitabine adjuvant chemotherapy, then a break while the largest of the spots was removed. He then finished 4 more cycles of chemotherapy, during which time we were told that the spot was not cancerous, so the assumption was that the other one wasn't either. A final scan was taken and we started to plan a holiday and finish off renovation work on our house.