Father on palliative care for pancreatic cancer

1 minute read time.

morning all,

i wonder if any of you can hep me?

I have mcmillan nurses and district nurses visit however sometimes you just need to talk to others for help and support so i hope you don't mind for my post?

My father has pancreatic cancer and is on palliative care, on thursday he had the syringe driver put in. he has 5ml of diamorphene and 5ml i think of halaperedol (sorry for the bad spelling). We were told he doesn't have to have set meals each day anymore, just eat for comfort, need to avoid dairy etc as the liver and pancreas cannot breakdown certain foods, which is fine, silly as it may sound i am a qualified nutritionist and personal trainer so i have some background of knowing whats in each food which may help on what he can break down and can't due to his condition, however since last night even water is making dad sick. he was first sick at 6pm, then a couple times after that, then as of 2:30 am he was sick again a couple times.

since the syringe driver as you can imagine due to the drugs he is much more sleepy, just before this was put in i managed to take him to town for an hour for a look around, to our local golf course to get out for a drink or a small meal, now he's extremely tired all the time.

if any of you have an experience with this, can you please tell me your stories? my dad is a fighter and i know he's holding on, but i don't know how long for. docs said 2-3 weeks nearly 2 weeks ago. obviously you all know a prognosis isn't always 100%. i mean in october we were told weeks to months and here he is, still fighting! 

my mum has now given up work untill she can return, i am also able to take time out due to a very good boss, i just can't work out weather to take this leave now, or in a couple days (due to go back to work wednesday for 4 days. i do four on four off)

bit of a jumbled message so i hope this makes sense? 

thank you all xx

Anonymous
  • FormerMember