February 27th 2010 - No chemo again!

2 minute read time.

The district nurse took 6 attempts/needles to get mums bloods on Thursday.  My mum felt sorry for her as the blood was going everywhere but where it should be!  If it had been me I think I would have fainted as I'm not too good with needles but typical mum her concern was for the 'poor nurse!'.

Yesterday morning we go up to get ready for mums chemo.  At 9am I breathed a sigh of relief as we had not received a phonecall saying mums blood count was low as we had last time wen they'd phoned at 8am.  We had breakfast and were just putting on our coats to set off for chemo at 10.10am when the phone rang.  Yes you guessed it, it was the chemo unit to say mums blood count was low and she couldn't have her chemo. 

When mum came off of the phone she started to cry, something she's not done more than a couple of times since her diagnosis, previously about losing her hair.  I felt totally inadequate as there was nothing I could do to make her feel better.  She said she just felt fed up as her chemo was dragging on due to the treatment being delayed. 

I left a message for Christine, mums CNS, and she phoned back in the afternoon when mum had gone back to bed for a sleep.  She said mum needed to be assured that she was doing brilliantly with her treatment and that a lot of younger people only managed 4 of her regime.  I know her oncologist told us at the outset she would have between 4 and 6 depending on how her body stood up to it but mum is determined that she will have all 6.  Christine said that if mum couldn't have any more now that didn't mean she couldn't have any after a break but mum says she doesn't want that, she just wants to get it done.  I don't think she's grasped that treatment could be more long term than she anticipates.