T-5 and counting. Returning to work after 10 months off...eek

2 minute read time.

Over the past couple of months I have been planning my return to work and finally got the last sign off yesterday. This is something I have been pushing for in my quest to get back to normality but now it is getting close, I confess to being a little apprehensive. I am due back on 1 August and that is only a few days away...

After such a long time, most of which was spent not having the energy or inclination to do very much  I do wonder how I will cope! I am only doing 3 hours a day for 2 or 3 days a week for the first couple of weeks, increasing my hours/days over a long period of time until I am doing my contracted hours. When putting together the plan, I thought at the time that it wasn’t enough. Now I realise it is not just being at work, it is reconnecting with my work colleagues, understanding the changes  - I work in IT for a large FSA company and change was constant and fast when I was full time, not just technology but rules, laws and regulations that IT had to comply with and often time bound - and being once again thrust into a hectic and challenging role. The role was always mentally challenging, knowing there could be financial or reputational damage for the company if my decision making wasn’t sound or project timelines and milestones were missed. Looking back at my return to work plan now, I am relieved that I will be easing very gently into my role and full time hours!