I'm new to this

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 5 replies
  • 60 subscribers

Hello, I'm new to this.

My Mum is my very best friend and she was diagnosed with stage four cancer just before Christmas, she also has a brain tumor which we have managed for the past few  years. I have cared for my Mum through all of this which has been a journey in itself (we don't live together) - but  I am now struggling massively with this new additional diagnosis.  Pain management is the medical way forward for my Mum - its so hard for me to know that she is so ill and  the prognosis is not favorable.  I am in such deep emotional  pain all of the time, I constantly have a deep deep pain in my heart, I cry a lot. I want to find a way to help myself through this painful unstoppable journey,  I have supportive friends who are very good, I don't have any other family. I took some time off work recently and have just returned. I must continue on this journey of assisting my Mum but I need help to find  ways to manage my own deep emotional pain, the future looks very bleak to me right now.  I would appreciate tips suggestions from the community please......

• Hi and welcome to the online community

It's completely natural to struggle when you're trying to care for someone who has cancer. I haven't been in this position myself but can recommend that you join the carers group. It's a safe place to share your worries and emotions with others who understand what you're going through.

To join just click on the link I've created and then choose 'join this group' on the page that opens. You can then respond to existing posts by clicking on 'reply' and start your own by selecting 'start a discussion'. To save you typing this introduction out again just copy and paste it into a new post in the carers group.