Newly diagnosed but incurable.

• 44 replies
  • 48 subscribers

Thank you so much for accepting me. On 16th December I was diagnosed with cancer. After all the tests, I found out on Friday just gone that the only treatment they can offer me is radiotherapy to postpone the inevitable. They said I may have months or maybe two years. It's a squamous cell cancer, under my chin and spreading up the nerve to my eye. The whole side of my face is numb and I'm currently in hospital with the eye sewn shut and antibiotic drops to help it heal, hopefully. I apologise for any wrong buttons pressed as I'm struggling to see with one eye and I'm not good with technology anyway. How does everyone cope with this sort of news? How do I stay strong for my family? It all feels unreal. 

• Oh AnnaMary, I’m so sorry to hear you’re in this situation, nobody deserves it. We’re all in the same boat here so feel free to vent to people who truly get it without feeling like you need to put on a front like you might with friends and family. 

I’ll be honest - I haven’t read all of the other responses, but if there were a perfect time for professional help, psychological and pharmaceutical, now would be it. When I found out about my incurable status, I turned to my existing psychologist with whom I’d already built a close, trusting relationship over many years. If you don’t have the luxury of an existing relationship with a psychologist, a new one would do fine. It can take a few tries to find the right match for you, since we’re all so different, but it’s really worth the effort. 

Additionally, reach out to your treatment team if you feel you would benefit from some anxiety relief medications. I find that just having them there makes me feel better - I don’t even need to take them! It’s like I’m stronger knowing that I can use them if things get too tough.