Recovery from bowel cancer and work problems.

• 2 replies
  • 4 subscribers

I had bowel cancer surgery three years ago. Firstly I must say I'm glad to be here in one piece (a bit missing) thanks to surgeon Dr Sopylo in Warsaw, so I'm not complaining. The problem is recovery. My large intestine seems to have a mind of its own, especially after food. I work as a supply teacher and can't afford to retire. Work can be difficult and embarrassing with the need at times to run to the toilet every few minutes.

Can I register as disabled or get any help? I don't like asking. I've worked all my life with almost no time off on the sick. I've worked for 40 years with a damaged arm nerve. As a young lad I continued working with a broken jaw. But it's getting to be a big problem at 64.

Also - will this bowel ever get back to normal? I exercise and eat a good diet. What should I do?

• Hi

Thank you for contacting us here at Macmillan.  My name is Rachel and I am a Work Support Advisor on Macmillan’s National Support Line.  My team provides guidance on your rights at work when you are affected by cancer.

It is good to read that your surgery was successful, however I am sorry to read that your recovery continues to be challenging.  I’d like to provide some information which I hope will help you in understanding what might be possible by way of support.

It is not clear from your message whether you are based in the UK, especially since you mention that your surgery took place in Warsaw.   As a UK-based charity, we are unable to provide advice on employment rights or provide clinical guidance if you are not receiving treatment in the UK or employed under a UK-based contract.  

My advice is therefore given on the assumption that you are UK-based.  If this is not the case, it would be worthwhile exploring whether it would be possible to access similar advice or guidance from organisations or charities within the jurisdiction in which you live.