Some advice please

• 2 replies
  • 4 subscribers

Hi, I'm Angela, 

I'm just finished treatment for cervical cancer stage 2b. I'm recovering well but am left with fatigue and terrible brain fog! I work as a carer in the community, I don't think I will be able to do all the driving required for my work when I return and also the work itself is heavy and quite exhausting. There's no real adjustments that my employer can make to my role to make it easier so my question is "do I look for another less exhausting job and when will I be forced to look for employment?" 

1. Thanks for any advice. Angela xx
  • Hi

Thank you for contacting us here at Macmillan.  My name is Rachel and I am a Work Support Advisor on Macmillan’s National Support Line.

I’m so pleased to read that you are recovering well from your treatment but understand that you are now managing some unpleasant side effects from it.   It really is important to feel physically and emotionally ready to return to work and your healthcare team will be able to advise you on this.  I’d like to provide you with some information which will help you understand what your rights are at work and also your employer’s legal responsibilities to you.   I hope in turn, that this will help you planning your next steps. 

From your enquiry, it sounds like you have an understanding of some of your employer’s responsibilities towards you but do remember that anyone who has a cancer diagnosis is automatically considered to be disabled under the Equality Act 2010 in England, Scotland and Wales, or the Disability Discrimination Act 1995 if you live in Northern Ireland. This means your employer should not discriminate against you because of your cancer and that your employer is also under a duty to make reasonable adjustments to help you at work. This protection is lifelong and does not depend on an active cancer diagnosis – the law recognises that sometimes cancer patients need support even when their active treatment ends.