Deja Vu

32 minute read time.

1997-2020

In July 1997 I came home to Cornwall after a trip to Southampton to see my children and celebrate my son’s 21st birthday.  I was unwell with a sore throat and temperature.   3 weeks later, I was admitted to hospital with a temperature of 104 and yellow with jaundice. Another 3 weeks. Doctors scratched their heads, talked about glandular fever and Epstein Barr virus, pumped me full of antibiotics and I slowly recovered.  There was talk of discharging me, but one doctor decided to give me a liver biopsy and the result showed I had a rare form of lymphoma - hepato-splenic T cell Non Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

Fast forward 8 months, 6 cycles of CHOP and a stem cell transplant later, I was discharged from hospital on the same day the Good Friday Agreement was signed and got on with the rest of my life.  In the next 22 years, I completed my Open University Degree, meet all my grandchildren, celebrated my silver wedding anniversary, travelled, started a career in an interesting part of the civil service, moved to Somerset, acquired an allotment, and did a lot of walking.  In March 2020, just as coronavirus was ramping up, I closed my work laptop for the last time and looked forward to retirement.  I was 64.

The only other health problems I had suffered during this period, were occasional coughs and colds and one of life's curses,  haemorrhoids and an anal fissure.  A couple of undignified procedures sorted these out. 

I will never know if the throat infection I had in December 2019 was significant or not in what came next.   I do know that, unusually, the lymph glands in my neck were swollen for a couple of days.  I was a little worried about it, but then they went back down again as the infection receded.  I put it to the back of my mind.