Vulval BCC??

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 12 replies
  • 23 subscribers

Hi there, I have been calling on Dr Google over the past week since I had what the dermatology consultant called a basal cell carcinoma removed from my Labia Majora. This searching has led me to this site and I just wanted to reach out to others who may have experienced this or those that may benefit from my journey.

I have had a small red lump in the area for 4+ years, initially believing it was folliculitis and was treated with antibiotics back 3 years ago. I carried on thinking it would always be a vulnerable area thus never thought much of it being anything too harmful. It always would itch in the shower and bled now and then, more so after friction and wearing sanitary wear. I tried squeezing it, dressing it (I’m a nurse :)) but because it never swelled, broke out and wasn’t classically looking infected I ignored it hoped one day it would disappear. I used to work in gynae oncology and was also a practice nurse so I knew there was potential for discomfort/disfigurement and because I never believed it could be cancer I lived with it.

Roll-on to this time last year. I went to my GP as it appeared there was a further lump underneath the skin leading to the back passage which was not visible and this seemed to trigger my brain....come on, stop being stupid and just get it checked out. The GP could give me no answer and took photos and forwarded it with the referral to my local dermatology dept. I was advised if there was concern they or dermatology would contact me. I never heard anything until 2 weeks ago. I didn’t chase it as I thought they had reviewed it and all was OK.