Radiotherapy for locally spread prostate cancer

Due for ct tomorrow then radiotherapy in just over 3 weeks.

Any advice as to what to expect re side effects or indeed anything to tip me off?

Thanks 

• Hi Stromness and welcome

You don't give any stats ie, psa gleeson etc. U say locally spread, I presume just outside the prostate gland and not affecting nodes etc.

I also presume that u r on hormone treatment.

Radiotherapy is fairly easy to tolerate, it only takes about 10 mins a day for the treatment.

I found that the worst side effects were problems urinating and constipation, reading posts on here others seem to suffer the same.

Obviously you can take meds but I found that they were of limited benefit.

So it's just a question of tolerating until after the Radiotherapy finishes.

Hope that helps and best wishes

Steve

• Thanks do.much for that.  I had been using a catheter for 10 months before the green light procedure which has started the whole diagnosis process. Bladder and bowel problems are uppermost in my concerns so I am now more ready. You don't mention fatigue which is another major concern of mine so that's hopeful.

Again, thanks so much.

• PS. In nodes and Gleason 7 but all other assumptions correct.

• Hi My husband started radiotherapy 2weeks ago, although the treatment itself doesn’t take long there is preparation before etc bowel prep, loads of water drinking , good luck

• Thanks. Getting ready for all the preparation you mention this afternoon. Let me know how your husband gets on - well I hope!

• I didn't find the RT particularly tiring, I did carry on working, it's probably the Hormone therapy that gives u the tiredness although as u are already on HT u r probably experiencing some tiredness already, hopefully won't get any worse

• HI