Prostate cancer

A support group for anyone affected by prostate cancer to come together, share experiences, and ask questions.

Cancer returned

popsey4
Posted by

Hi,I'm a newbie...

Husband has just learnt that his cancer has returned...

Waiting for a scan,and we have an appointment with Consultant 20th March,to see where the cancer is lurking...

GP thinks it might have progressed into the Lymph Nodes,obviously no one does till the Scan is done...

Hubs had a Radical Prostate removal surgery op 2006.he has had PSA levels done every six months since...

I am very frightened,and worried,hubs is now 75 years old,looks fit,and he is my carer,as I have health problems also...

Grundo
Posted by

Hi Popsey

Sorry to hear of your potentially bad news. I wonder why the GP has said the Pc may have spread to the lymph nodes before a scan? Is it because recent psa's have been showing a steady increase?

Steve

popsey4
Posted by

Hi Steve,it was not the local doctor who passed this comment...it is my husband and I who "THINK" it might have migrated to the lymph nodes...speculation on our part,sorry to mislead you...

We have an appointment booked for the 20th March at the hospital to see consultant...

We have not had an appointment for a Scan yet...

Yes, his PSA level shot up by eleven points since his PSA test done just before Christmas 2017...

He had PSA level done last week as they are calling him in for it every three months now...

Thank you for asking...

It had been rising slowly before that

Grundo
Posted by

Ok Popsey

I presume that after RP the psa went down to near zero.

Has the upward trend been going on for some time or is it recent?

What is the current psa?

If it has re appeared, he can still have salvage Radiotherapy if it hasn't spread to the bones.

hope all goes well on the 20th

Steve

popsey4
Posted by

Steve,his PSA level was 0.3 after RS ...Surgen knew he had not got it all...