Ovarian cancer

A support group for anyone affected by ovarian cancer to come together, share experiences, and ask questions.

Ultra radical surgery - what to expect & in search of stories of hope

bluestar
Posted by

Hello there

I'm really new to all of this, so please excuse me if I'm starting a new thread that has been addressed by others already. 

My partner was diagnosed last week with high grade ovarian cancer, probably stage 3c (though I guess they don't like to say until all the tissue samples have been tested). But it would appear that the tumours have spread beyond her pelvis into the omentum, and last week the surgeon said he'd seen nodules on the peritoneum on the MRI scan, so surgery would include a peritonectomy. 

We are still 10 days away from surgery - symptoms such as shooting pains, difficulty eating and general discomfort from bloating and distention are getting worse seemingly by the day. I hope this is 'normal' - my partner is obviously worried that more intense or new symptoms mean that the cancer is spreading. However, the surgeon has said that the cancer will not spread before surgery. 

So I guess we just have to be patient and try not to worry too much ... 

In the meantime, I would be grateful for any tips people might have to manage the pain. A hot water bottle seems to work sometimes, but sometimes it's just too heavy for her to bear on her stomach.

In addition, if anyone has had any experience of this type of surgery it would be great to hear about any tips to prepare well before surgery and after surgery to aid as speedy recovery from what I can only imagine is a very traumatic operation for the body. Obviously, we're aiming for the wound to heal as quickly as possible so that chemo is not delayed (currently estimated to start 5-7 weeks after the surgery). We have also been told that full recovery from surgery will take up to 4 months.

Many thanks

Roobarb
Posted by