Husband just been diagnosed....help!

• 14 replies
  • 105 subscribers

I am new to all this & feel completely alone & devastated that my husband has been diagnosed this week with lung cancer, he also has it in lymph node 2 so will need an operation to remove it then more treatments presumably chemo. To add to this he has Smouldering myeloma & a few other minor issues.

Its all so frightening & as my husband is the one that’s always been there to support me with my numerous ((not cancer) health problems I don’t know how we will cope. He was fit & very healthy before all this was found after a routine x Ray when he went to the GP with a chest infection.  

Its early days as he was diagnosed on Friday after CT & PET scans, bronchoscopy, biopsy, blood tests etc. I’m terrified & would appreciate any help, advice & support this community can offer. All the forthcoming appointments & treatments have overwhelmed us . Thanks to anyone who replies

• Hi Kernowp, Welcome to our  group you will find a lot of help here, First of all you will feel better once  they give you a plan , I was diagnosed last August , I had a lobectomy right bottom lobe, which all went well, I was lucky that they deemed me fit enough for the operation even though I had lost a lot of weight , I did however have to have 4 rounds of chemotherapy , and I won't lie it was quite hard .I was very anxious , It's a very scary time , but I got through it ,It was a year last  month since my operation I had a ct scan and everything looks clear . Your husband is very lucky to have you to look after him, so stay strong ,it's just as hard for those doing the caring ,as my husband will testify. I hope this helps  , take care. Ellen.

• Hi Ellen, thank you so much for your reply. It’s very kind of you to take the time & I really appreciate it. So pleased that your latest scan looked clear, must be a huge relief for you.