Looking for support?

• 14 replies
  • 137 subscribers

Hi everyone,

I’m a 25 year old female and I am a primary school teacher. I was recently diagnosed with Acinic cell carcinoma (stage 1). I had noticed a lump in my neck for a long time and the doctors thought it was a benign tumour. Luckily I kept pestering them due to the pain of the tumour and after a biopsy I was diagnosed with cancer.

I’m having surgery next week to remove the tumour. Although I have wonderful family and a supportive boyfriend who takes care of me, I feel quite alone and very scared. I’ve not told any of my friends, and only management at work know. Iy would be great to chat to/make friends with people going through the same or similar things. Not even necessarily to talk about cancer!

Hopefully this wasn’t *too* rambley as I have struggled to know what to say! Face palm tone2‍♀️

• Hi Effy welcome to our small community sorry you e found yourself on here and well done for persevering with the gp and getting seen. I’m Hazel 5 years post radiotherapy and chemo for tonsil cancer. I’ll have a think to see if I can locate any other posts in the forum in relation to your cancer type. Remeber head and neck cancers do respond well to treatment and good luck with the op next week. Glad yiur boyfriends there for you. 
    hugs Hazel x

Hazel aka RadioactiveRaz 

My blog is www.radioactiveraz.wordpress.com  HPV 16+ tonsil cancer Now 5 years  post treatment. 35 radiotherapy 2 chemo T2N2NM.Happily getting on with living always happy to help  

• Hi 

RE: Hello! 34 year old woman diagnosed with Acinic Cell Cancer looking for support 

I’ve found this post if you type in the search bar the magnifying glass top left banner clinic cancer there’s a few others as well. They may not be active but worth a reply to 

Hazel x

Hazel aka RadioactiveRaz