Gullet (oesophagus) cancer

A support group for anyone affected by gullet cancer (also known as oesophageal cancer) to come together, share experiences and ask questions.

Bombshell dropped - that wasn’t expected.....

Bri1958
Posted by

Thanks Luv Chocs, Peter and Ricky!

All in all, we’ve had a lovely weekend, the sun was out, the TR behaved herself (for once), we had a great day with the kids and grandchildren and we’ve had a lovely long walk on the beach today.

Now we wait.... colonoscopy first, which I hope will confirm polyps in the bowel as per scans done some years ago.  Then we await an appointment to meet my oncologist for the first time. 

"While I breathe, I hope"

Dum Spiro Spero
“While I breathe, I hope”
Yani10
Posted by

Hi Bri,

Sorry to read all this, I'm new to it all myself as my husband has recently been diagnosed with stage 4, so not sure I can offer any help but did want to send you good wishes and support and tell you to stay strong.  You're probably finding like me also that this forum has some lovely folks.  

Great to know you're staying positive and having nice days out - definitely continue that!  Will keep an eye on your posts and wishing you the best 

Bri1958
Posted by

Thanks Yani.  Much appreciated!

You’re right, everyone here is so supportive which makes such a difference when you’re perhaps feeling at your most vulnerable emotionally.  

The advice, guidance and support I’ve already received here has been wonderful and has helped get me through at least a couple of periods of despair.

Definitely keeping as positive a mindset as possible, even while waiting for the Moviprep to perform its magic before tomorrow’s colonoscopy.....  Then it’ll be my first meeting with the oncologist on Thursday, so hopefully the picture will become clearer then.

How are you and your husband managing?  It’s such a torturous time for partners as well as patients

Best wishes 

Brian

Dum Spiro Spero
Luv Chox
Posted by