Hello - chat about what chemo cycles look like please?

• 8 replies
  • 25 subscribers

Hi all 

My husband is 67 and was diagnosed in March 2022 with GBM 4. He is through the surgery (75% debulking) and the 6 weeks standard treatment and is on the 4 week rest. He had no symptoms apart from a slight left sided drooped lip for 2 days. He had minimal symptoms throughout treatment - but I am an ITU nurse so may be underplaying it!!

He retired in January and I was due to retire this month and travel!! In my naivety I thought perhaps that during the 5 days of chemo and 23 days off regime, we could travel a little. But our travel insurance wont cover any trip while he is still on treatment. (Any advice re insurance welcome too)

But his main concern is that having come through the treatment above, he is most scared about the chemo only cycles - he seems to think its going to be hell. I know everyone is different which is what we are told by the oncology team, but any stories of how this bit has been would really help. What is the impact of the chemo on the 23 days - and is it anyone's experience that adventures in the UK are likely??

Thanks for any chats. 

• Hi Pog

a warm welcome to the group. Sorry to hear about all that you and your husband are going through.

I can empathise with you here. My husband (then 50) was diagnosed GBM4 in Sept 2020. He too had his tumour debulked and went through the 6 weeks oral chemo/radiotherapy with minim al symptoms but he decided that he didn't want any further treatment after that. A decision I have had to respect. So I can't comment on how much the chemo on its own would have impacted. This is a safe supportive space so I'm sure one of the others will be along shortly with their experience of that treatment cycle.