** SEPTEMBER OCTOBER NOVEMBER 2021 BREAST CANCER RADIOTHERAPY **

We've created a new thread for radiotherapy discussions.

Please do let us know if you have any other threads you think would be useful to link here.

• Get your doctor to prescribe zero base for you. 

• Just want to thank you Exray Girl - your working experience is such a benefit to those of us about to start our radiotherapy.

x

• I've asked this is a separate thread, but just wondering... Do you have to self isolate during Radiotherapy? Thanks

• I’ve been told to avoid unnecessary crowds and maintain social distancing , hand washing and mask everywhere if not at home . I’m in Edinburgh , but imagine same advice wherever you are.

I am a Sexual Health Nurse so have been Working from home doing virtual consults and phone clinics, which has helped reduce exposure.

have my first Radiology /Oncology appt on 281021 -had WLE and SNL sampling 210921, and a blessed nodes were all Neg. started Tamoxifen this week -keen to get radiotherapy behind me to get back to very short staffed NHS !! 

X

• You are all very welcome.

I know how daunting it can be so I’m always happy to help if I can

Take care everyone x

• I’m about to start RT on the 8th November . Love in central London so wil not be able to drive . They know I will be using the train to get on every day and have not raised it as an issue . That in itself is not self isolating so I can only imagine that being careful as you can I the answer .

Hope that helps ?

xxx

• I have not been told to self isolate as this does not impact the immune system, as far as I understand 

• Radiotherapy only effects the immune system if large quantities of bone marrow are irradiated as in total body irradiation in advance of a bone marrow transplant.

You wont need to self isolate but I would follow the advice of wee susie in avoiding crowds , hand washing and mask wearing