Newly diagnosed invasive lobular

Had another meeting with my consultant today after mammogram/ultrasound/MRI.  I have a 13x19mm invasive lobular cancer.  Had a core biopsy today and will get the results of that in 2 weeks.  Then we will have a treatment programme.  

The waiting between appointments and scans is very hard.

Also the knowledge that I didn't go to my GP for months after finding the asymmetry - I dismissed it as ageing (I'm 60).  

Just wanted to say hello to everyone and feel part of a sisterhood.

• Hello speckled frog, I’m new to this and struggling with the technology! I am 70 and was picked up on my last breast screening. Yes, waiting is awful. Keep in touch.

• Hi Speckled Frog,

The waiting is definitely the hardest part as the uncertainty makes your mind go to all different places. I’d advise you not to Google!

Did you have a full body MRI or just a breast one?

I would try not to beat yourself up about not going sooner. I’ve had those thoughts too although my kind of cancer is usually only found when it’s locally advanced. 

2 weeks is a very long time to wait. They told me after ultra sound as I had skin thickening and abnormal lymph nodes so didn’t have to wait for biopsy results. Sounds to me like they’ve caught yours earlier, although obviously I can’t know that. Have a look at my profile if you want a better idea.

I felt so much better after I had my CT scan (to check for distant spread, thankfully none) and then got my treatment plan. I know you’ve a wait until that point but then you’ll feel much more in control.

Have you tried the BreastCancetNow website. They can put you in touch with someone who has been in a similar situation to you that you can have a chat with.

Wishing you all the best for your biopsy results and treatment plan.

Bluebell xx