Hi

Hi my names Dawn I was diagnosed with breast cancer HER2 on the 2nd of March.  I started my chemotherapy on the 29th of March. I'm a nurse and work in the emergency department.  I've stayed away from any information other than that I have been given and now feel like I'm ready to speak to others going the same as me. I'm always the strong one for everyone, always the one everyone comes to for advise so coping with this has been difficult and actually showing my weaknesses.  I live alone after I left my partner of 29 years in October and was just setting out on a new adventure on my own. 

I really trying hard to get through one day at a time a week ago I just cut all my hair off one night on my own and cried afterwards. I have so many emotions running around in my head that I actually feel like I'm going crazy at times. 

I want to join the group to get support but also to support others as that's just who I am. 

• Hi Dawnalba

Welcome to the forum, I’m sure you’ll get a lot of support from here. You’ve been through a lot of changes in the past few months. Are you off sick from work too?

I was diagnosed with HER2 positive cancer at the beginning of February and will have my 3rd chemo tomorrow. I don’t know how much help I can be as I’ve only just started my journey too.

I’ve contacted my local Maggies centre and have been to a few relaxation classes and am doing their Zoom yoga sessions. I’ve been thinking of asking about counselling as I’m starting to think it might be beneficial. I’ve also applied for a McMillan phone buddy. Breast cancer now have a service that puts you in touch with someone who has a similar diagnosis to you.