New to the site

If you've just joined up and aren't sure where to start, this is the group for you. Tell us a bit about what brings you here, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Someone will be on hand to welcome you and point you in the right direction

Stem cell transplant

Steph19
Posted by

Hi i am very new to this sote, never actually wrote on any sote before, im 33 and due to have a stem cell transplant early February, feeling scared and anxcious dont know what to expect, im a single mam i have three children all under 11, my mam is a great help but i need to tell my children i cant see them for the 4 weeks my consultant says i will be in isolation but i just break down at the thought of saying the words out loud to them and feel sick at the thought of it although i know it has to be done. Any advice on explaining to my children would be greatly appreciated. Thanxs.

Steph19
rily
Posted by

Hi . I would just like to welcome you to the community. I see you have just found the ALL group and posted there. You should get some good help and support from the members there with experience of this when they pick up your post. Best wishes.

Best wishes to All,   rily.  What is a Community Champion ?
greg777
Posted by

Hi Steph,

Welcome to the forum, although I am really sorry for the reason you had to post. This site has a dedicated part for people going through stem cell transplants so please pop over and join us Stem Cell Transplants for Blood Cancers - Forum

My children were 8, 6 and 2 when I had my transplants, and I am not going to lie to you, it was not a good time. It was very emotional and heartbreaking to have to leave them for that long. It is up to you what you decide to tell them, we decided to be as honest as we thought appropriate for their age. The eldest two knew I had cancer and that I needed to go into hospital to get better. The youngest was too young to understand, so we just said I was poorly and needed to go away to get better.