New to the site

If you've just joined up and aren't sure where to start, this is the group for you. Tell us a bit about what brings you here, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Someone will be on hand to welcome you and point you in the right direction

eR positive breast cancer 22mm tumor

Suehum
Posted by

Hi 

I am new to site . Just diagnosed with we we positive stage. 1 to 2 breast cancer . 

Lump 22 mm . Choice of surgery now with radiotherapy or first medicine to ahrshr tumor 6 to 9 months then surgery and radiTradioth

Any advice ?

Suehum
Posted by

Sorry not we we breast cancer lol But ER positive 

lesleyhelen
Posted by

Hi

Welcome to the Macmillan website and sorry you haven't received a reply earlier.  I think most people saw that the thread has 1 reply and assumed someone had welcomed you and offered you some advice.

I've not heard of medicine to shrink (I assume that is what ahrshr is meant to be shrink on your predictatex phone?).  I had ER+ and I was told surgery to remove the tumor and SNB (sentinel node biopsy) to check it hadn't spread to my lymph nodes and then if no spread, radiotherapy, then anti oestrogen tablets for 5 years (some have them for 10 years)

Mine was a year ago and since then, there have been further developments in the treatment of ER+ breast cancer with a test to check the number of positive for the ER.  (ER 1 - 8).  This test is an Oncotype DX test which gets sent to America and is better than a biopsy result (the higher the number the better the tablets work - but it wasn't around when I was operated on in July 17, so the medicine may be a new thing too.

If you would like to join the breast group (a very active group - one of the most active of the whole community, so plenty of support) and perhaps ask the ladies there who are ER+ if they have had this option and ask their advice?