New to the site

If you've just joined up and aren't sure where to start, this is the group for you. Tell us a bit about what brings you here, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Someone will be on hand to welcome you and point you in the right direction

Still in shock

FlossyBear
Posted by

Dad has lung cancer - wow, never thought we would hear that.  He has his first oncologist appointment tomorrow and i am going with him and mum to hear first hand and to support them.  I know it's going to be hard - I have been a sniveling wreck since I found out on Monday.

Any ideas for questions I should ask at the first appointment - I have no experience of this and want to make sure we have everything we need.

rily
Posted by

Hello Flossybear and welcome to the community, although sorry to hear about your Dad. A cancer diagnosis comes as a shock to all of us, no matter what age, and we know it has far reaching effects on loved ones. The early days of not knowing and uncertainty can be the worst. Once a treatment plan is put in place, things become slightly easier as you know something positive is happening. it is good to know you are going with your Dad for his appointment. It may be an idea to take a notebook with you. Doctors can give so much information at these meetings, it is hard to remember everything. I notice you have joined the Family and Friends group. There you can share and get support and advice from others in similar situations. I hope all goes well. Best wishes.

ShimmeringUnicorn
Posted by

Hi just popping by to say try not to be too hard  on yourself. This a shock and a learning curve.

Taking a note book as rily suggested is a fab idea.

First it will give you something to do and may help stem tears that threaten, and you could start now by jotting down anything that comes into your head.