New to the site

If you've just joined up and aren't sure where to start, this is the group for you. Tell us a bit about what brings you here, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Someone will be on hand to welcome you and point you in the right direction

Diagnosed with rectal cancer yesterday.

Tryptos
Posted by

I can't sleep or eat. I haven't told anyone. I have no one to talk to.

barbaral
Posted by

Hello  

I can imagine that your head must be absolutely spinning right now. A colleague of mine has been supporting his wife through a rectal cancer diagnosis and we talk about it several times a week (though I have no personal experience, I have a few friends who've been through bowel/rectal/anal cancers so I know enough to be a good listener).

I can't fix your cancer but I can point you to some solutions for 'no one to talk to'.

If you mean talking LITERALLY we have the Macmillan helpline - 0808 808 0000   - available 9 to 8 Monday to Friday and you can ask the nurses and advisors ANYTHING. Seriously, they'll listen and help on all the medical, emotional, financial, relationship issues that you can think about. 

But if you're looking for fellow patients to help you on your journey, we have a rectal cancer forum group here. I'm sure you'll get a warm welcome and you can ask them anything.