New to the site

If you've just joined up and aren't sure where to start, this is the group for you. Tell us a bit about what brings you here, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Someone will be on hand to welcome you and point you in the right direction

Comfort

Littlemurf
Posted by

Hi, Im a newbie on this site but I wondered if anyone knew of any soothing and comforting audio books on CD which we can play to our mum? These can be fiction, fact or religious.

My mum is dying from Bile Duct Cancer and as she is deteriorating rapidly, there are days where she cant get up but wants to listen to something for when she cant sleep.  I just thought it might be nice to find something that she could take great comfort in.

Any suggestions would be very welcome. Thanks

Kalliope
Posted by

Hello Littlemurf,

Welcome! I am so very sorry to hear about your mum. How thoughtful of you to look into something that she will enjoy at such a potentially overwhelming time. I am a huge fan of audio books and they have been a key thing in helping me to cope with lots of situations.

I often find my favourite audio books are down to the narrator; in the wrong hands (or voice) an excellent book can become pretty awkward. I like Juliet Stevenson who has read a lot of great books, and Rosamund Pike does an excellent Pride and Prejudice. For some reason I can't for the life of me think of anything else off the top of my head! If you use an online audio book service like Audible or E Stories (they have apps or can be downloaded to a computer or device) you can listen to snippets to get an idea of what they are like to listen to. These are also good because you can download them straight away or even stream them if your mum has wifi; no time wasted waiting for deliveries or having to go to the shops when time is of the essence.