New to the Community

If you've just joined the Community and aren't sure where to start, this is the group for you. Tell us what brings you here, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Someone will be on hand to welcome you and point you in the right direction.

Being strong for everyone else but I’m struggling

DangerousM
Posted by

Took Dad to hospital yesterday for pre op for a TURBT next week and an OGD on 4/2. 
I work in a hospital so I understand most of it. My mum and brothers on the other hand don’t & I’ve been positive about it all however I am struggling knowing what I know and working on a ward which deals with exactly what I’m dealing with personally.  
They found lesions on his bladder, had a scan and he has stomach tumour too. I know I just need to wait for biopsy results but my gut is telling me none of this is good.  
Sat in car park now because I don’t want to go into work because I don’t trust myself not to break down on the ward. 

Thehighlander
Posted by

Hi  and welcome to the Online Community, although I am sorry to see you finding us and so sorry to hear about your dad.

You do need to tell your line manager about how you feel as with this information that can support you during this busy time. Being strong for everyone is very hard work - it’s time to be strong for yourself.

A cancer diagnosis can indeed touch all the family bring a lot of stress, confusion and many questions. Working in the medical world has its advantages and disadvantages....... I was a teacher so my drive was clear information as with this the family and myself could move forward during my 20 years of treatment........ I think talking with people who are on the same journey (patient and families) can help a lot.

Can I direct you to this link to our very supportive Bladder cancer group as this will open up your concerns to a wider audience who know exactly what you are going through at the moment.