Secondary Lung Cancer

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 2 replies
  • 58 subscribers

Hi All

This is my first time on the forum. I got my bowel cancer diagnosis nearly two years ago. I had my operation a year ago and finished chemo about 6 months later. However, my last scan showed the cancer has spread to my lung and I'm about to begin treatment again next week. In a number of ways I'm very lucky, my employers are very supportive, as are my family and friends. The medical staff are also extremely supportive and helpful. The tumour can only be a few months old and is quite small and treatable.

My last treatment was radiotherapy and Capecitabine. This time there's no radio and I'm not sure yet what the drug will be, (not Capecetibine though).

What I'm wondering is what experiences have others had of lung cancer and treatments. How tired or sick did it make you? I know enough to know everyone reacts differently, but I'm still curious. Apparently, the drugs are to be administered through a PICC line via a pressure bottle that I'll have for a couple days. I'm sure it will be quite manageable but any tips would be very welcome.

• Hi  and welcome to the Online Community, although I am so sorry to see the circumstance that brought you here and so sorry to hear that you have now been diagnosed with Secondary Lung Cancer

I am Mike Thehighlander and I help out on the Community and I will do my best to direct you to the best place for you to find the support and help you need.

On my long journey I found the best way to navigate the various challenges that a cancer diagnosis brings was by talking with people who are on the same journey.

My cancer journey was rather different but if you follow this LINK to our Secondary Lung Cancer Forum you will be able to connect with people who understand the journey you are on.