Baking - Tips, Questions, Discussions, Recipes.

• 266 replies
  • 48 subscribers

So, Bluebell suggested a thread like this might be of interest, so I figured I'd kick it off. I've mentioned in a couple of places that I'm a professionally trained baker and patissier, and I LOVE to talk about baked goods. I have SO MANY recipe books, and haven't made enough things from them all yet. The problem is, I have no-one to feed them to, and I'm trying to lose weight! So not really a good plan to bake like I want to and then eat it all..... lol

So if you need a recipe, have a problem with a recipe, just want to talk about an amazing cake you had, go for it!

Just continuing on the chat from elsewhere....

Bluebell, I lived and worked for three weeks in Iceland and 3 weeks in France as part of my training. BEST experiences I've ever had I think! I discovered so many new products and techniques, tasted so many new foods - it was amazing! I ever got to teach them some new products and gave them some new ideas too. I introduced scones, bakewell tart, and treacle tart to Iceland. And truffles to the little bakery in France I was in as a way to use up their crumb wastage.

But the different flavours of the breads and the cakes was what stood out. I don't know about the rest of the country, but Leeds is definitely missing a good and proper cake shop. I've found a good bread shop, but that's one in the whole of Leeds. And there are no cheese shops either! There's too much convenience and too many supermarkets with the cheap bread and cakes that are full of the cheapest ingredients and substitutes, as well as additives and preservatives.

The difference even between the fast and 'cheat' bread I made at college and the supermarket stuff was night and day. The proper stuff I made, wasn't even comparable.