Express yourself

This is a space for self-expression, creativity, anything you might do to perhaps forget about cancer. Post photos of art, songs, poems, photos of any adventures you've been on - anything you like. Don't be shy, go ahead and express yourself!

Songs that express how u feel

fl0ralW0man
Posted by

Many moons ago I worked as a nursing auxiliary n used to quietly  sing " Smile tho your heart is aching" ( the Demis Roussos version ) while washing the metal bedpans in the sluice late at night. I really didn't like that task!

It occurs to me now it's an appropriate song for those of us dealing with cancer, whether we fight it or live with it.

Has anyone else got similar songs?

If you don't know the words of mine, I'll post them in a future post lol

Fear of the unknown is the worst thing. Once we know what we're facing, we find the strength to deal with it.
greg777
Posted by

Hi FloralWoman,

I think the power of song is massively understated in the cancer “journey”. Indeed, I created a whole playlist of songs to get me through the rough times. I am 3 years post treatment now and your post prompted me to revisit that playlist and it takes me right back. Here are some of them:

Panic at the Disco - Nine in the afternoon - “Picking up things we shouldn’t read, it looks like the end of history as we know, it’s just the end of the world.... Into a place where thoughts can bloom, into a room where it’s nine in the afternoon...Your eyes are the size of the moon. You’re good ‘cause you can, so you do...”

Nicki Minaj - Starships - “Get on the floor, floor, like it’s your last chance. If you want more, more, then here I am. Starships were meant to fly. Hands up and touch the sky. Can’t stop ‘cause we’re so high, let’s do this one more time”

Pitbull - Give Me Everything - “Give me everything tonight, for all we know, we might not get tomorrow, so let’s do it tonight”