Will getting to sleep get easier as time goes on?

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 9 replies
  • 47 subscribers

Hi all, My husband has only just been diagnosed with advanced prostate cancer and it has spread and is inoperable. It’s a very bleak outlook. I am coping pretty well, I think and by the end of each day I am so tired that I drop off to sleep quite easily. The problem comes in the early hours of the morning when I wake up, check he’s ok and then try and get back to sleep. I find I cannot switch off the worry/anxiety/fear...my thoughts just go round and round and give me no peace. Do any of you have any techniques for relaxing in this situation? My daughter says she counts backwards from 1,000 in 7s. That is beyond me, lol! I am not good at numbers.

All suggestions very much appreciated. X

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi WahboardWizard,

I'm sorry to hear of your situation, it sounds incredibly tough. It may not be a long term fix but I find distraction is the best sleep aide, listening to a podcast or audio book works for me, my partner (who I am caring for, he has an NET that has spread to liver) listens to white noise through an app on his phone and it’s really worked for him as he wasn’t sleeping at all well and we had some terrible long sleepless nights -everything can seem worse at night can’t it.

i hope you find something that works for you, getting proper sleep is so helpful.

best

freya x

• I don’t know if this will help you but it gave me strength. I would lie in bed and remind myself that I was warm, comfortable and my husband was right beside me breathing and warm and I would speak to him when he wakes.  
    my husband died 3 weeks ago and I am glad we didn’t waste too much time on what and when.

my heart goes out to you. Look after yourself. 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to FormerMember

Thanks so much, Freya. X

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to Owl58

Thank you, Owl58. X

• FormerMember