Carers only

Looking after a loved one with cancer? This is a safe and supportive place to share your worries and emotions. Please remember when posting that this group is for Carers only.

advice for carers

Deco
Posted by

Hello to everyone out there.

I just wanted to start a discussion/advice post to all those out there who are having to care for a loved one who is suffering with this cruel disease.  My own mother passed away from pancreatic cancer last year only 3 months after her diagnosis.  I am an only child and my mother was a single-mum so it was really just the two of us that initially had to deal with all of this (and by this i mean dealing with the diagnosis, health issues, benefits/PIP, contacting the hospice/palliative care nurses, organising the funeral etc.).

I am no expert but I can offer my own personal experiences and advice as well as a friendly ear to any of you out there who are feeling overwhelmed, sad or angry (oh my I was SO angry with everyone when we got the diagnosis).  Feel free to post questions, advice for others or just moan and rant at the universe.

You may be feeling weak and useless but remember you are stronger than you think and you CAN get through this.

Big hugs to all out there xx

You are not alone. 

You are not alone. 
snj963
Posted by

Morning to you. Am so sorry to hear about your mum and my heart goes out to you.  I have found being a carer for a loved one is certainly a roller coaster ride of all sorts of emotions and feelings. We have to be strong for them but deep down you feel worthless and can't cope never mind the worry financially taking time off work not being paid and having to keep your head above water so as not to lose your home.

My husband was diagnosed with melonoma stage 2a in may this year. It's all very quick and he will soon be on his 6th operation as they found another mole that was cancerous. Results came yesterday.