Bereaved family and friends

For anyone who has lost a family member or friend to cancer to share their feelings and support one another.

2 years and still guilty!

Weirside
Posted by

On July 1st it will be 2 years since my mum passed away from Lung Cancer.

I am 1 of 2 siblings but all of her care from diagnosis for the 4 years she battled was down to me

When she passed I was wracked with guilt that I hadn't done enough to help her, I felt I had failed her.

2 years on that feeling is still with me, does this ever get easier?

DaveyBo
Posted by

Hi Weirside

Welcome to the community.  I'm sorry to hear about the loss of your mum.  I think, and I'm no expert, that being a full time carer for 4 years means that the grief and guilt will hit you much harder than your sibling.  Everyone feels guilt about the loss of someone - should I have called for help sooner?  should I have insisted on ?  should I have said (not said) ?  Your mum would know that you didn't fail her and that you did what you thought was best for throughout those 4 years.  The feeling will lessen over time but there may be times say in 10 years time when it might hit you again.  It may be only a brief feeling or it may last a bit longer but you will be better able to cope with it from your current experience.  Remember, your mum will always be around you and will try to support and guide you as best that she can.  Visit one of her favourite places like the local park, sit quietly and talk to her and watch and listen for any small signs that she is near.  There is a link below which has more information about guilt and bereavement.

Please contact the support line free on 0808 808 0000 which is open daily 8 am – 8 pm for a free confidential chat. You can use this link your area to find support near where you live. This could be 1-2-1 or group and is also free and confidential. Also, post as much as you want whenever you want here and someone will always respond to you.