Finding work after diagnosis.

Hello,

I'm Simba, I'm looking to return to work after my diagnosis and being labelled vulnerable during Covid-19.

I've applied to trainee jobs in Photography, graphic design, Artworker and digital marketing but got nothing so far.

It was during treatment that made me realise how much I want to pursue a job in the creative industry/sector. I know thatll be a job I'll love to be in. Not just go to a job for the sake of a paycheck.

I do have a background in retail, as fun as it was. I want to move from that industry and into the creative sector. I have a degree in photography,be nice to actually use it and not waste it? 

I'd appreciate any help or tips.

Thanks

Take care 

Simba 

• Hello

Thank you so much for contacting us.  My name is Rachel and I am a Work Support Adviser on Macmillan’s National Support Line.  It is great to hear that you are now in a position to start looking for a new job and it sounds like you have identified the sector in which you would like to now pursue a career.

It would be useful for you to explore the support that the following organisations can offer you, depending on where you live:

These organisations provide free and impartial careers advice, information and guidance to help you in searching for the right role, including information on how to develop your existing skills and well as learning new ones.

Simba, I also wanted to make you aware of your protection from disability discrimination under the Equality Act 2010 or the Disability Discrimination Act 1995 (if you live in Northern Ireland) following your cancer diagnosis. These Acts define a cancer diagnosis as a disability and apply both in the workplace and during the recruitment process.   Under these Acts you should not be discriminated against for any reason related to your cancer and the Acts also allow you to ask for reasonable adjustments to be made to help you overcome any substantial difficulties you may face due to it.