Ask a Work Support Adviser

Questions about work and cancer? Our Work Support team are here to answer your questions. They'll aim to respond within 1 working day.

Working alongside caring for someone with cancer

Kirsten2091
Posted by

Hello , I’m looking for some advice 

my fiancé dale got diagnosed with Leukemia 21st September. 
He has daily doses of radiation , Monday to Friday. 
Friday he has a blood transfusion , leading him to often be very ill over the weekend as expected

i work full time as a manger at a leading supermarket. 
My HR manager gave me a weeks paid leave which is due to end today , with me returning to work tomorrow full time

i can’t claim carers , as I earn too much & I cannot go down to £123 a week. The rent for property alone is £400 PCM. 

I essentially would like to take extended leave from work , but they cannot commit to this as I only have a certain amount of holidays left ( others previously been used and taken ). I earn a salary each month which we are currently living on as my partner does not get paid from his work place if he calls in sick 

I would love some advice on what we can do , as this is starting to cause stress between us at a time when he needs me the most 

am I entitled to anything ? 

thank you ! 

Polly - Macmillan
Posted by

Hi  Kirsten2091

My name is Polly and I am a Work Support Advisor on the Macmillan Support line, we advise cancer patients and their carers about their employment rights. I am sorry to hear that Dale has been diagnosed with leukaemia and that you have problems taking time off to care for him.

Please think about the following points in relation to this problem: