Ask a Work Support Adviser

Questions about work and cancer? Our Work Support team are here to answer your questions. They'll aim to respond within 1 working day.

Advice

Jobi
Posted by

To whom it may concern,

I have just had a double mastectomy and will be off from work until April 29th. I am a self-employed piano teacher and I work in 2 schools. I will need to be careful and mindful of my condition when I return to work. My schedule allows breaks during my teaching day. My employer knows I was diagnosed with cancer, however the full diagnosis was given to me last week. I'm awaiting news about my treatment plan.

How should I explain my circumstances to my employer? 

Thank you for your help,

Su - Macmillan
Posted by

Hi ,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us about your work situation and concerns about explaining to your employer about your circumstances.

I understand from your message that you are self-employed and providing your services as a piano teacher within 2 schools. However, you also referred to the school(s) as your “employer”. It appears unclear if you are a genuinely self-employed individual or a “worker” in the school(s). This is important as genuinely self-employed are not covered under the Equality Act 2010 section 5 or Disability Discrimination Act 1995 (Northern Ireland). However, if you are under a contract to perform the service personally for the school(s), then you may be protected from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Someone can be a “worker” even if they have a contractual right to refuse some work they are offered. If someone’s work has been regular and continuous an employment tribunal can decide that they are a worker even though their contractual hours are described as “zero”.