how long do RCHOP side effects last after chemo

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

A group for anyone affected by any type of Non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) to get together, ask questions, share experiences and support each other.

how long do RCHOP side effects last after chemo

No. of entries: 25 | No.of favourites: 0 | Posted on 09 Jan 2010 01:31
  • Sorry if this question was asked somewhere else, I'm just learning how to use these boards!  My dad (74) was dx recently with Diffuse Large B Cell NHL.  He just finished his second round of R-CHOP 21.  Can you please share your experiences on what side effects you had and when you started to feel better in between treatments.  It is day 11 since his chemo and today may be the first day he has felt "okay".  Any and all experiences would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you!

• I can't believe I just replied to you and lost it!! I will try again.

I found the first two to three treatments the worst. i was admitted into hospital after doses 1 and 2 for different reasons.( it is in my profile if you wish to read it.)But after dose three I found I could tolerate it a bit better. I am not saying it was easy but you learn how to work around it. 

I was finally able to help my daughter choose her wedding dress when she had done most of the leg work!!

I still got very tired but that is understandable with the chemo, but found you could work around it.I found I had to take it very easy in the first week virtually just sitting around not doing much at all.But in week 2 and 3 I was able to go out and felt I had my life back but obviously on a slower scale.Then its back to the hospital for more chemo and you feel a bit miffed as you begin to feel better and they make you ill again!! But when you feel so poorly just think what its doing to the cancer!!

make sure your dad tries to eat etc. i found little and often the best.

youd dad has the same type as me, mine was stage 4 do you know what stage your dads is?