Lung Cancer which has spread to Liver

Lung Cancer

A group for anyone affected by lung cancer to get together, ask questions, share experiences and support each other.

Lung Cancer which has spread to Liver

No. of entries: 15 | Posted on 05 Jun 2011 02:40
  • Hi this is my first time posting as I have just joined.

I found out last Tuesday my Dad has Lung Cancer which apparently has spread to his liver.  He is now awaiting a biopsy.

Im close to my dad and he dotes on my two young sons.  Hes been married to my mum for 42 years.  Im scared of what the results are going to be.  Surely if it has spread to the liver its not good as I have read this indicates its Stage 4?

Anyone who has any similar experience it would be great to read a comment from you.  I suppose at the moment im just thinking the worst :(

• Hi

I am in the same position, in fact I have cancer in the gallbladder mainly (apparently very rare) and now has gone into the liver.  If it is possible, they will try to cut out the cancer in your dad's liver.  I personally have not gone that route even though they could take out my gallbladder and cut away part of the liver.   It is the best option, but my lung function is not great and it is too risky for me. 

However, bizarrely, my lung tumour has been stable for a year and remains so.  I am seeing my Onc at Christies on Weds as I shall be going down the chemo route.  Im hoping to go onto Tarceva and Gemcitabine which has had some good results for metatastic gallbladder.  There is some question as to whether it is mets from the lung or a new primary but the treatment is almost identical if surgery is not an option.

Hope your dad gets the best advice.  All is not lost as yet, I am 21 months from diagnosis and still battling on.

heywood x

• hi,