Side effects of prophylactic cranial irradiation

Lung Cancer

A group for anyone affected by lung cancer to get together, ask questions, share experiences and support each other.

No. of entries: 2 | Posted on 11 May 2009 05:05

• Hi there

I am new to this and was hoping I could find out more about the side effects of Prophylactic cranial irradiation.

My Mum was diagnosed with small cell lung cancer in January 2009. Following the diagnosis she began chemotherapy and radiotherapy. In total she has had 5 sessions of chemo and 25 sessions of radiotherapy.

The radiotherapy finished on 11th March. The last chemo session was the middle of April as the Doctors decided that the treatment wasn’t working. They have looked at the biopsy a few times and it has been difficult to confirm whether the tumour is small cell lung cancer or a carcinoid. They are taking another biopsy this week and hopefully that will give a more definite result. If it is a carcinoid the chances are that they can operate which would be fantastic.

As the Doctors were not sure about the type of lung cancer, they decided it was safer for Mum to have 10 sessions of Prophylactic cranial irradiation (PCI), just in case the cancer had spread to the brain (which I believe is common).

Mum finished the PCI treatment over 2 weeks ago now, but she is still feeling the terrible effects. Ever since the treatment ended she has been feeling nauseous and has been unable to eat much which is not good as she really needs to build herself up, she is tiny and only around 7 stone as it is.

The Doctors keep prescribing different anti-sickness drugs, she has now tried 5 different types and none of them work. Last week she went in for a blood transfusion, this has not helped unfortunately, we really thought it would help as last time she had one it made such a difference.