going back to work after chemo

Hodgkin lymphoma

A group for anyone affected by Hodgkin lymphoma to get together, ask questions, share experiences and support each other.

going back to work after chemo

No. of entries: 6 | No.of favourites: 0 | Posted on 19 Jun 2012 07:26
  • Hi all,

I'm currently 7 months into my 8 month course of ABVD. I won't finish chemo until end of July and my PET scan will be mid September but I was just wondering how long people have allowed themselves to recover before going back to work after receiving the all clear? I am a primary school teacher which is pretty full on and don't want to go back before I am ready! If anyone can give me some advice it would be greatly appreciated and particularly if there are any primary school teachers out there who have been through this I would love to hear from you!

Thanks all

Natalie

• Hi Nat,

First of all well done on getting through your chemo, your around the same stage as me, looking forward to the end of treatment date! I asked my consultant about going back to work and he said not to rush back, he advised giving yourself at least one month after finishing treatment, more if you feel you need it and then to go back as a phased return. With your job being so full on I would say to maybe wait till after your scan and see how you feel.

Hope this helps!

Liz xx

Lizzy

• Hi Liz,

Thank you very much for getting in touch with me! Glad to hear that your treatment is nearly over too - when do you finish? Can't wait til the end! Already making plans for day trips out in August and maybe a mini break too :)